 |
Start
delivering qualified traffic to your site today.
Sign Up Now! |
| Recent
Articles |
Apple's
4-Day Million
It only took Apple four days to sell over one million songs through its new iTunes
Japan service. Advertising
On a Dead Man
Now there's a guy on eBay auctioning off the rights to advertise on his dead body
when he does in fact die. MSN
Launches Filter Blogs
Yesterday, MSN launched filter.msn.com, which has contains new blogs.
|
|
08.11.05
Google Insider Cutts
Into Blogging
By Jason Lee Miller
One of Google's software engineers, Matt Cutts, has a blog up and running. The
latest post has a great personal reply to someone questioning him on why their
site wasn't showing up on the engine. Cutts gives a lengthy reply as to why that
was, and it didn't look good for the site operator.
The blog is entitled "Matt Cutts: Gadgets,
Google, and SEO," and may be a nice one to keep up with as it develops. Matt's
detailed answer about duplicate content and other problems with the trouble website
can provide great insight into what Google penalizes and what it rewards.
Have your own thoughts on blogging, duplicate content penalties, and
more? Your opinion "Cutts" into the discussion at WebProWorld.
An excerpt from his email to the unwitting interrogator: "Hi, I saw
that you wrote to user support asking about www.XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX.com. We
recently launched some technology that looks for duplicate or scraped content.
In this case, our algorithms calculated that there were some strange pages on
this domain.
"Without know which pages the algorithm detected, I looked around a bit. I'm guessing
http://www.XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX.com/
debt-consolidation.html probably kicked things off. This appears to be a scraped
copy of www.ftc.gov/bcp/conline/pubs/alerts/bankrupt.htm In fact, the page on
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX.com appears to have not one, but two copies (one right
after the other) of the original page from the FTC?
"Also, http://www.XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX.com/
free-credit-report.html appears to be a copy of http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/conline/pubs/credit/freereports.htm
as well. It also looked like there were some pages such as http://www.XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX.com/legal-forms/
item.php?item=75 http://www.XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX.com/
legal-forms/cat.php?cat=8 that were selling legal forms?
"It's good that these pages have been removed; it didn't seem like legal agreements
such as "Contract Employing Real Estate Broker for Lease of Property" were really
relevant to XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX.com."
Ouch. It goes on a bit more, but thought that was a good enough example. It should
be an interesting blog to follow.
Let's hope he doesn't give away too much and follow the same fate as a certain
Mark Jen, who got the axe from Google for
the secretive missives posted on his blog.
About the Author:
Jason L. Miller is a staff writer for WebProNews covering technology and business. |
|